Vegan Gado Gado
Seasonal Vegan, Vegetarian, Gluten free, Dairy free, Egg free recipe
Gado Gado is an Indonesian vegetable salad, popular in the Netherlands. Normally with eggs, but this is a vegan version. Of course, feel free to add a couple of boiled organic eggs if you want it vegetarian.
Start by making the peanut sauce:
Add all the ingredients and half the water, into a blender and mix until you have fairly consistent, thick sauce. Now slowly add more water until you have reached the required thickness of sauce (some people like it thinner than others).
Keep the sauce warm at very low heat while you prepare the rest.
Thinly slice the tempeh. Heat the oil and fry the tempeh for around 8 minutes. Add the tamari sauce and hot chili paste to taste and fry for another 2 minutes.
Top and tail the French beans and boil them for around 5 minutes or until they are cooked. Add the bean sprouts in the last minute of cooking.
Slice the cucumber, roughly chop the peanuts and slice the lettuce in strips.
Arrange the vegetables and the fried tempeh on a large plate and pour over the peanut sauce. Sprinkle the chopped peanuts on top and serve with lime quarters and broken up thin rice crackers. (traditionally this dish is served with prawn crackers, but they ain't vegan!)
When using the ingredients listed, this recipe is suitable for the following diets:
• Gluten free
• Dairy free
• Egg free
Please Note: May still contain traces of gluten, egg and dairy or other allergens. Before consumption always check the label of each individual product/ingredient for allergens.
- 250g Tempeh
- 2 tbsp sunflower oil
- 2 tbsp tamari sauce
- 1 tsp chili paste
- 300g French beans
- 125g bean sprouts
- 1 cucumber
- 1 iceberg lettuce
- 50g peanuts
- Thin rice cakes
- 1 lime
- For the Peanut Sauce:
- 1 ball of stem ginger, chopped
- 1 clove garlic, peeled & chopped
- 1/2 cup peanut butter
- 1/3 cup tamari sauce
- 1/4 cup of water
- 2 tbsp chili paste (or to taste)
- 2 tbsp rice vinegar
- 2 tbsp toasted sesame oil
- 2–3 tbsp agave syrup
Please Note: May still contain traces of gluten, egg and dairy or other allergens.